jump to navigation

A Dream December 14, 2006

Posted by Seraphim in Mysticism.
trackback

Christ is in our midst!

I would like to apologize to anyone who was disappointed by the recent hiatus. I was told by a spiritual father that  I should not let knowledge become a source of pride, so I took a while off to ruminate over that. I have, however, returned, and I plan to be around for some time to come.

First off, I’d like to express my hope that everyone had a happy celebration of St. Herman of Alaska’s feast day.  A monk burning with the Spirit of God, St. Herman was among the first to bring the Orthodox Faith to the Americas. In the Alaskan wilderness, he worked many wonders amongst the Aleut population and, it is said, even held converse with angels. Despite his extreme humility and simplicity, he was also granted unusual eloquence by the Holy Spirit, and evangelized many pagans and atheists in his time.

With that out of the way, I’d like to relate a curious dream I had. St. Anthony the Great appeared to me, and said, “I, who am not worthy to judge my brother, nonetheless marvel at the claims made by this generation. For if men be right in their opinion of themselves, then never has humanity been more righteous before God; but if their opinion be mistaken, then surely all men before the present age have never had such perverse hypocrisy. Amen.”

On the subject of humility, I think this is a sobering warning to us to walk always in the immediate cognizance of our unworthiness before God. For I do not venture to set myself above St. Anthony; but if I may venture an opinion, I believe that men are more prone to corruption than to virtue, and this would mean our souls are very likely in a perilous state. May the unsleeping God ever grant us watchfulness and wakefulness, that our hearts may be prepared for His coming!

In Joy,

Seraphim

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

