jump to navigation

Metanoia November 12, 2006

Posted by Seraphim in Prayer.
trackback

Christ is in our midst!

I anticipate extreme busyness this week and next week. As such, my entries will be fairly short. This week I’d like to publish a fairly short prayer of repentance, in English and Spanish translations. Influences on this particular prayer would be, in particular, St. Philaret of Moscow, St. John of Damascus, and, to a lesser degree, St. Isaac of Syria. Honourable mention would also go to St. John Chrysostom for the basic format.

+++++++

O Lord, hear my prayer in Thine infinite compassion, for in my perversity I am undone and without hope.

O Lord, straighten me, for I am twisted by my infirmities.

O Lord, clean me, for my flesh is full of corruption.

O Lord, teach me to speak kindly to all men, for my lips are possessed by spite.

O Lord, chasten me, for I have transgressed thy commandments.

O Lord, sanctify me, for I have desecrated myself by my sins.

O Lord, love me, for my spirit is lost without Thy hope.

O Lord, teach me to love, for I am consumed by the selfishness of my flesh.

O Lord, have mercy on me, for I have verily condemned myself.

O Lord, shed thy holy light upon my soul, for my heart is utterly dark and noisome.

O Lord, teach me to be joyful, for I am burdened by the cares of this world.

O Lord, give me peace, for my soul is roiled with the turbluence of evil.

O Father, humble me and make me least of all men, that I may be first in the age to come.

O Christ, help me to confess Thee by loving sinners, that Thou mightest love me on the day of judgment.

O Holy Spirit, teach me to pray, and pray Thyself within me, that my words may be pleasing in Thy sight as incense.

O All-Holy Trinity, accept my contrition and have mercy on me, purifying my soul that I, unworthy as I am, may turn from my wickedness and be thy good and faithful servant, sinning no more and shining Thy Light before all nations; for holy art Thou and Thy Radiance unto ages of ages. Amen.

–A Sinner’s Prayer

+++++++

O Señor, escuche mi oración en tu infinito compasión, porque en mi perversión soy desecho y sin esperanza.

O Señor, réctame, porque soy torcido por mis fallas.

O Señor, límpiame, porque mi carne es llena de corrupción.

O Señor, enséñame como hablar benévolamente a todos hombres, porque mis labios son poseídos por rencor.

O Señor, disciplíname, porque he transgredido tus mandamientos.

O Señor, santifícame, porque yo me he desecrado por mis pecados.

O Señor, ámame, porque mi espíritu está perdido sin tu esperanza.

O Señor, muéstrame como amar, porque soy consumido por la arrogancia de mi carne.

O Señor, ten piedad de mí, porque soy ciertamente condenado.

O Señor, ilumina mi alma con tu santa luz, porque mi corazón es enteramente oscuro y nocivo.

O Señor, enséñame ser jubiloso, porque soy cargado con las preocupaciones del mundo.

O Señor, dame paz, porque mi alma está enturbiada con la turbulencia de maldad.

O Padre, hazme humilde y hazme menor, para que soy el primer en el siglo que viene.

O Cristo, ayúdame confesarte por amar a pecadores, para que me amarás en el día de juicio.

O Espíritu Santo, enséñame como orar, y ora dentro de mi, para que mis palabras serán agradable en tu vista como incienso.

O Santísima Trinidad, acepta a mi contrición y ten piedad de mi, purificando a mi alma, que yo, indigno como soy, puedo desviarme de mi iniquidad y ser tu siervo bueno y fiel, ya no pecando y brillando con tu luz ante todos pueblos; porque santo eres y santo tu resplandor por los siglos de los siglos. Amén.

–Oración de un pecador

Comments»

1. Michael - March 25, 2007

About 3 years ago I dropped into a black hole – four months of absolute terror. I wanted to end my life, but somehow [Holy Spirit], I reached out to a friend who took me to hospital. I had three visits [hospital] in four months – I actually thought I was in hell. I imagine I was going through some sort of metamorphosis [mental, physical & spiritual]. I had been seeing a therapist [1994] on a regular basis, up until this point in time. I actually thought I would be locked away – but the hospital staff was very supportive [I had no control over my process]. I was released from hospital 16th September 1994, but my fear, pain & shame had only subsided a little. I remember this particular morning waking up [home] & my process would start up again [fear, pain, & shame]. No one could help me, not even my therapist [I was terrified]. I asked Jesus Christ to have mercy on me & forgive me my sins. Slowly, all my fear has dissipated & I believe Jesus delivered me from my “psychological prison.” I am a practicing Catholic & the Holy Spirit is my friend & strength; every day since then has been a joy & blessing. I deserve to go to hell for the life I have led, but Jesus through His sacrifice on the cross, delivered me from my inequities. John 3: 8, John 15: 26, are verses I can relate to, organically. He’s a real person who is with me all the time. I have so much joy & peace in my life, today, after a childhood spent in orphanages [England & Australia]. Fear, pain, & shame, are no longer my constant companions. I just wanted to share my experience with you [Luke 8: 16 – 17].

Peace Be With You
Michael


Leave a Reply

